• Welcome to

    Sparkenhoe Community School


At Sparkenhoe Primary School, we believe that each child is unique and each individual talent should be celebrated and encouraged.

Planning within our Early Years Foundation Stage follows the Early Years Framework and Development Matters Guidance and incorporates a mixture of play-based, adult-led and child-initiated learning opportunities. We also incorporate a variety of themed ‘WOW’ days, visitors and educational trips to fully immerse the children in their learning. Half-termly topics ensure a balanced and enriched curriculum that provides all pupils with a wide range of experiences and opportunities to learn. Topics are flexible and may vary to better suit the individual needs and interests of the children. Our safe, stimulating and inclusive environment encourages children to explore, experiment, observe and share their ideas freely. Play and exploration are important factors in learning in the Early Years. The indoor and outdoor environments are carefully planned to ensure all children have access to high quality experiences which enable them to develop the characteristics of effective learning.

Regular assessments of children’s learning ensures that future planning reflects identified needs. The majority of our assessment is informed through our quality interactions with the children. Through these quality interactions, we can ensure a language-rich environment where the children can safely develop their own curiosity and creativity. Photos and videos are regularly uploaded onto ‘Tapestry Online Learning Journal’, which all parents/carers can access.

Forest School sessions also offer unique, outdoor opportunities to develop the children’s confidence, resilience and self-esteem through hands-on learning in a natural environment. Forest School provides children with knowledge that enables them to care for our environment. They are introduced to new skills and use a variety of different tools to assist in developing their abilities to solve real-world issues whilst building self-belief.

There are seven areas of learning and development which give information about what children in the Early Years need to learning in both Foundation 1 (Nursery) and Foundation 2. The curriculum emphasises the Characteristics of Learning which highlight the importance of how children learn and the need to take into account the uniqueness of each child. The areas of learning are split into prime and specific areas. All the areas are important and link with each other.

Prime areas:
Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
Communication and Language.
Physical Development.

Specific areas:
Understanding the World.
Expressive Arts and Design.

To find out more about the EYFS curriculum, follow the links on this page.

To log into Tapestry, follow the Tapestry link.